Have a Fami Fami Christmas

 

There is just something about Christmas that makes me fall in love with the Famicom all over again. It could be because last year for Christmas my young and beautiful wife got me a CIB Famicom Disk System, but I am not so sure. Christmas just seems to be an import gaming time of year for me. Already on it’s way to my doorstep this festive season is a CIB Zelda no Densetsu 1: The Hyrule Fantasy. In case you don’t know, that’s the Famicom version, not the disk system version. Man, did I get a hell of a deal. $40 shipped for that, as well as incomplete copies of Zelda 1 & 2 for the disk system. From where you might ask? Let’s just say I have my sources… and they rule.

This year I am hoping that Santa leaves a red Sharp Twin Famicom under my tree. I have been dropping subtile hints for the last little while to this effect:

But why a red one? Because it looks like giant piece of delicious candy, that’s why. I love everything about this console. The red “1” and “2” on the controllers; the way the lettering in “Famicom” curves around the cartridge slot; the fact that it is pretty much the ultimate retro video game power house (playing Metroid (featuring save files) and playing Kid Dracula on the same machine??!!). Basically this device screams awesome. I mean, just look at it!

Glorious.

It would seem that this is a great time of year for purchasing some Japanese games and systems. Ebay stores such as FeatherPluckinFilms and Andy Games Japan actually charge a decent price for their stuff and they don’t gouge for shipping, something Americans shipping to Canada should wise up to (One seller on Ebay is charging $15 to ship a loose Gameboy game to Canada. That is at max $2. Bad business, bad seller, no buy, EVER). A few other non-Ebay places you should check out are Japan Game Stock and Pink Godzilla, who each have huge selections of everything import, as well as Famicom Shop, because they have awesome prices it is run by a stand-up guy who really knows his shit. I have ordered stuff from all these places and I have never had anything but great service and a hassle free experience.

So what are you waiting for? Pop (or buy) Spartan X into your Famicom, and have a holly jolly x-mas. 

One thought on “Have a Fami Fami Christmas

Leave a Reply

