Finds! (extra large edition)

This update culminates all of my finds for the last three weeks of January. The source of these games is a real mixed bag, from Ebay to pawn shops. Some really nice stuff for the old collection, starting off with a personal favorite of mine…

Zelda: A Link to the Past (SNES, CIB and damn near mint!)

This a beautiful score for me, because I am in the process of getting all the Zelda games CIB (you’re next, Majora’s Mask). I just happened to be in my local used games store (Re-Play Games) when this was being sold a few weeks back. I immediately told Jason (the owner, and all around awesome dude) that I wanted it. The game was held for 15 days, as is the law ’round these parts, and I just picked it up this morning.

I never owned this game brand new when I was younger, so imagine my surprise when I took and game out of is cardboard holder and I found this:

I did not know that this little hint book came with the game, surly the previous owner must have used this little guide to unlock some of the secrets of Hyrule…

…or not. As you can see, the gold triforce sticker is still intact and 100% perfect. The only downside to this is that I really want to see what’s inside this little booklet, but there is no way in hell I have the guts to break the seal. I suppose I will never know…

Zelda no Densetsu: Kamigami no Triforce (SFC, CIB)

This is the Japanese version of Zelda: A Link to the Past. The Japanese name is Zelda no Densetsu: Kamigami no Triforce, which translates to The Legend of Zelda: Triforce of the Gods. The game lacks the inclusion of the world and dungoen maps of the North American release, as well as the hint guide, but it does come with a neat plastic coated reference card that explains the controls. I scored this on Ebay for 99 cents; how could I not?

Crystalis (NES, CIB)

This is one of those games that I have wanted CIB for a while now simply because it is one of my favorite NES games ever. It’s truly an underrated classic. In fact, I would put Crystalis right up there with Metal Storm and Clash at Demonhead on a list of most underrated NES games. The gameplay is a perfect mix of the early Ys games, the original Zelda and the first Final Fantasy games. If you have never played this game, get into it. I have seen alot of internet chatter about this game recently and I think it’s cult status is begining to rise, so I would pcik myself up a copy before the price rises beyond reason.

Everything else…

Some other good stuff I found: a loose copy of Gargoyles Quest for a buck at a pawn shop, A mint CIB Zelda Oracle of Seasons (GBC) and a mint Mega Man (GB), both at a secondhand store for both for under $20, and another Ebay deal which is a Bonk’s Adventure for $12 shipped (they usaully go for around 17 – 23 before shipping).

All in all is been an especially good start to the year, which is odd because I find that usaully the ‘in the wild’ finds tend to dry up until the start of spring.

2 thoughts on “Finds! (extra large edition)

  1. This might seem old school, but I keep score at alsomt every game I go to. You can use this to track things like when certain players are due up, find out how players are doing a particular game, guess who will be pinch hitting in a National League game, track pitchers, and so on. It forces you to pay more attention to the game itself and kills the boredom a little bit.

Leave a Reply

