Chasing Carts: NES Top 15 CIB

I have decided to try and focus my video game collecting, and save for any good deals or ‘can’t pass up’ types of situations, try and collect games in a pre-determined theme. I am already slowly working on a CIB Zelda set, but I haven’t really gone out of my way and concentrated 100% on it as of yet, it’s more been a passive goal where-in I picked up any CIB Zelda games that I happened to come across.

I have decided to start on something a little easier and less wallet killing. I am going to get my fifteen favorite NES games CIB. This should be a fun adventure, and I am really looking forward to beginning.

Where to begin? First things first, I have to determine what my 15 favorite NES games are. After much debating and narrowing, I think I have it. They are listed below, in no particular order.

Duck Tales
Metal Storm
The Legend of Zelda
Crystalis
Little Nemo Dream Master
River City Ransom
Batman
Bionic Commando
Contra
Clash at Demonhead
Castelvania
Mike Tyson’s Punch Out
Mega Man 2
Final Fantasy
Dragon Warrior 4

Now as luck would have it, I already own many of those games CIB, so I can go ahead and scratch those off right now. I will also reorder the list so that the easiest (and therefore the cheapest) are at the top after the scratched titles, ascending down to the most expensive.

Metal Storm
The Legend of Zelda
Crystalis
Little Nemo Dream Master
River City Ransom
Batman
Contra
Bionic Commando
Clash at Demonhead
Castelvania
Ducktales
Mike Tyson’s Punch Out
Mega Man 2
Final Fantasy
Dragon Warrior 4

As you can tell, I already have many of my favorite games already. The way I see it, the only two games on here that are going to give me any grief are Final Fantasy and Dragon Warrior 4. Both of these game fetch close to $100 each for complete copies (Final Fantasy around $60 – $80, and Dragon Warrior about $80 – $120).

I think I’ll start picking away at this list as soon as tomorrow. I know Re-Play Games (the local retro gaming church) has a reasonably priced Bionic Commando, and I am watching few other auctions on Ebay. Let the great experiment begin!

6 thoughts on “Chasing Carts: NES Top 15 CIB

  1. You already have a great collection there! I’m quite envious. I especially love that River City Ransom. One of my faves on the NES as well. Good luck with the rest of the great list.

Leave a Reply

