Chasing Carts: NES Top 15 CIB (Update #2)

This is a chronicle of my quest to own my 15 favorite Nintendo Entertainment System games… Check out the flagship entry here, and after that check out Update #1 here.

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh- That was meant to be read as a sigh of relief and not as a scream. I am relieved because I acquired a game today that I have wanted forever. It’s one of my favorite NES games of all time, and therefore I have decided that I must have it complete. I am not a completest-style collector by any means. Sure having the manual and box is great and all, but I just want to play awesome video games. A lot of the time you see some collectors that get too caught up in collecting video game stuff and not nearly enough time playing video game stuff. Like people who collect sealed games. What the fuck is the point??!!?? If you want a challenge, learn to juggle. In the meantime, take the fucking plastic off the game and play it for the love of god. I must admit however, that it does give me a jolt of awesome when I find a game that has sentimental value to me or a game that is one of my favorites complete in the box. On that note, here’s what I got today:

dw4-cib_in-plastic

Oh baby. I used to own all of the Dragon Warrior NES games loose, but I sold them as a lot on Ebay for some stupid reason. I have regretted it ever since and I decided to just go for broke and get them all back CIB. Although I have many fond memories of playing the original in a two-man effort with one of my childhood friends, it is part 4 that is hands down my favorite of the NES releases.

dw4_inserts

This baby has been sitting in the display case at my all time favorite video game store Replay Games and I have been drooling over it ever since I saw it the day the store opened last November. And now it’s mine. I am so happy right now I could throw up. In fact, if you go to the Replay Games website (www.replaygames.ca) and scroll down a bit and look at the pic of the glass case full of boxed NES games, you will see the very Dragon Warrior 4 that I now own, as well as the Dragon Warrior 2 I will own, eventually.

dw4_everything

So lets take a look at the list of my favorite 15 NES games which I am questing to own CIB. The crossed out ones are the games that I own. Radness.

Metal Storm
The Legend of Zelda
Crystalis
Little Nemo Dream Master
River City Ransom
Batman
Contra
Bionic Commando
Clash at Demonhead
Duck Tales
Dragon Warrior 4
Castelvania
Mike Tyson’s Punch Out
Mega Man 2
Final Fantasy

3 thoughts on “Chasing Carts: NES Top 15 CIB (Update #2)

  1. […] The classic story of NES rarity applies to Dragon Warrior 4; released (relatively) late in the NES’s life, smaller print run, high demand, and the slew of extra’s make this title pretty expensive. My copy is absolutely mint except for the corners of the box, which slow shelf wear. The maps, manual, and cart are all pristine and minty fresh. I posted an article of my conquest for this title late last month. You can get teh details here. […]

Leave a Reply

