Mega Finds!

Long time, no update. I can report that the new video game room in the new house is nearly finished being put together, and I will have some pictures of it very soon, hopefully by the weekend.

Now that life is back to an almost normal state, I can start posting again regularly. I thought why not start with some cool stuff I have amassed in my absence. Without further ado…

megamen-hh

These are awesome finds for me because I have been searching for these games forever, it seems. One of the holy grails of Mega Man collectors, the elusive Game Gear entry in the series and Mega Man IV for the Game Boy. After I got these carts and added them to my plastic boxes that house my portable games, I noticed how excellent my hand-held collection is becoming. I think I am going to dedicate an upcoming post to my many mini-carts.

GG-megaman

I know I should be thankful that I found it at all, but I wish my Game Gear Mega Man wasn’t so thrashed. “At least it still works”, is what I keep repeating to myself.
gen-carts

I am pretty excited about this little stash of Genesis carts I found in a second hand shop. Two of which (Ghostbusters and Strider) I have been seriously contemplating going through online auctions to acquire, as I thought I would never come across these in the wild. Now I have. Strider’s awesomeness is world renown, but not many people are familiar with the Genesis Ghostbusters game, which is – to put it bluntly – the only Ghostbusters video game that isn’t a fucking embarrassment. It’s actually a really cool (and hard as shit) super deformed plat-former, and we all know how much I love those.

snes-carts

I have two recent SNES finds, both of which are pretty awesome. The first one is the Capcom wrestling game Saturday Night Slam Masters. It’s excellent in that dependable early-90’s-Capcom arcade port kind of way. What makes it +50 rad is the fact that Haggar, from the legendary Final Fight beat ’em up series, is a playable character. Suplexes for all!

The other SNES game I picked up is an extremely deadly (and extremely valuable) mech plat-former called Metal Warriors. The game is a cross between the original Blaster Master and Metal Storm. Not only is it one of the best action games on the mighty Super Nintendo, but it also has the most gorgeous cut scenes that can be rendered in 16 bits. If you get the chance, I would definitely check this game out,. It’s truly a must play.

ps2games

Last but not least, I picked up some PS2 games that have been noticeably missing from my collection. The games being Beyond Good and Evil (I heard there was a sequel in the works, let’s just hope that they don’t fuck it up), Tales of Legendia, Rogue Galaxy (which I picked up on the recommendation of my friend Jason), and Suikoden V. I actually already owned a disc only copy of Suikoden V, I just traded up for an insert… I am still missing the manual, though.

Well, that about does it for now. I have tons of more,  cooler schwag to post, so check back later in the week. Later!

One thought on “Mega Finds!

  1. Definitely agree with you on the Ghostbusters. That’s actually one of my favorite games on the Genesis. I’ve been waiting for it to come on the Virtual Console just so I can play it again… alas it may never come :(

    Keep up with your excellent collecting. Love seeing it!

Leave a Reply

