Have a Fami Fami Christmas!

It’s that time of year, as Christmas lingers in the chilled night air, that I take some time to reminisce about the Nintendo Famicom. if you are a regular reader here, you know by now that I am in love with the Famicom in all it’s awesome Japanese quirkiness. For the past several Christmases I have received a ton of Famicom love, such as a CIB Famicom Disk System and a Sharp Twin Famicom, and I just generally associate this time of year with 60 pin games and hard-wired controllers.

This year the festive Famicom treats will be arriving late, probably not until mid-January… because even though I get the Christmas Famicom fever around the start of December, the international mail system lags a couple weeks behind my holiday cheer.

This year, Santa Claus has hunted down some really cool complete-in-box Chinese Famicom original pirates, though it appears as though he will be giving me tracking numbers in my stocking instead of the games themselves.

Don’t shed any tears for me, however… as these were gifts to myself. No one knows me better than my wife, and something tells me that she made sure I will have some video game related awesomeness under the tree Christmas morning.

The New Year is the perfect time to try something new, so I highly suggest that your import yourself a Famicom, AV Famicom, Twin Famicom, or even a Famiclone and dig into the lush and unique world of Japanese video games. Not only are there tons of great games that never made it to our shores, but they come with some of the most beautiful artwork and packaging in video game history. On top of that, many games (RPGs not with-standing) that can be played with little-to -no understanding of Japanese! You owe it to yourself, to treat yourself.

Note to my regular readers: this is the last post before Christmas, but I will have at least two more updates before 2010, those being my annual Christmas shwag show-off (Dec. 26th or 27th), and the 3 year anniversary feature on Dec.29th. See you next week and have a Merry Christmas!

One thought on “Have a Fami Fami Christmas!

Leave a Reply

