Turbo Grafx steal and Rad Game Boy carts!

I won the banner contest over at Fuck Yeah Famicom! Thanks to everyone who voted for my design! My prize is a cart from the editor’s personal collection! I still don’t know what I am going to get yet, but as soon as I have it I will post it!

Some cool finds over the weekend, so now down to brass tax.

Over the weekend I replied to a local online classified ad. It was for a Turbo Grafx-16 and two games for a best offer. Well, I offered $20 and they said yes! Oh, sweet, sweet glory. The ad actually said it only came with the one sports game, but Keith Courage was also included. Not bad.

I used to have a TG16 but I ended up selling it all off about a year ago. I have always kind of regretted it, but no more. Needless to say I have been trolling ebay in search of a complete copy of Splatterhouse for the last few days (I only ever owned it card-only).

I was out at a few thrift stores last week and some perticular Game Boy carts caught my eye;

A pirate Game Boy multi-cart? You don’t see many Game Boy pirates around, especially in the wild, so I picked all three of these carts up for a measly $3 each. This one has 12 games on it, and although 90% of them are crap Tetris Plus is pretty great and that first game is Game and Watch Gallery 1. Below is a close up of the game list.

This one is interesting. Metal Gear Solid came out on the Game Boy Color, so I was a little confused when I saw this cart. I knew that it was obviously a pirate simply because it lacked the transparent case of the legit cart (which I also have), but also because rather than have the Nintendo /Game Boy logo at the top of the cart, it has this;

SAM? I don’t get it… The game is the GBC version, however, and plays exactly the same.

Lastly I found this legit Japanese cart. It’s for a Castlevania game, although I am not sure which one and I haven’t really put any time into researching it. Pretty cool, though.

4 thoughts on “Turbo Grafx steal and Rad Game Boy carts!

  1. It’s called SAM because it plays exactly the SAMe! OHOHOHOHOHOHO! Oh god, I need to get a life.

  2. I’ve been wondering about the SAM myself as well as where to find others like it. I mean just where do you find a mold for blank game boy cartridges anyway? My guess is that the SAM refers to another clone game boy system of a similar name.

  3. Or it’s not a pirate game at all… it’s a SAMple! You own the rare MGS Sample cart! :) Is the board inside legit Nintendo? Or is it indeed confirmed Pirate? Because I can see someone selling replacement cases for GB games like they sell for UMDs today… the clear UMD replacement cases.

Leave a Reply

