Finds! July (so far)!

Hey! I have picked up some really great stuff over the past 2-3 weeks, so let’s have at it.

We’ll start off at the cream of the crop first. I finally picked myself up a complete copy of Splatterhouse 2 for the Genesis. I have no idea why I don’t already own this complete (I did have a manual-less boxed copy of the UK MegaDrive version). My parents probably rented me this game enough times to pay for it twice over in the early nineties. This game is still as creepy, gory and awesome as I remember it. This is a prime of example of why NOT to “Buy It Now” on Ebay. The BINs for this game are usually in the 75-95 dollar range, but I actually bid on a copy and paid less than $25 shipped. It’s in flawless condition to top if all off.

This is a pretty interesting little pirate. The cart calls it “Mario 9”, and the title proclaims it to be “Super Mario World 9” and the game is actually a sprite swapped version of one of the NES Adventure Island games. I think this will be the focus of a Pirate Famicom Monday next week, so I am not going to say much more about this here.

Speaking of pirates, here we have a Waixing Science and Technology pirate original of Dragon Quest 7. I do know how “original” this game is, as it appears to be a hack of Dragon Warrior 2 or 3, but it’s still pretty awesome none-the-less.

What happens when a series you love to play and collect for runs out of domestic releases? You start on the imports, naturally. So i have purchased Dragon Quest 7 for the Japanese PS1. I am a huge fan of the Japanese PS1 jewel cases. they are are about 100 times better than the crappy CD jewel cases we have here. It would take some serious force to bust the hinges off of one of these things.

This is actually one of the best versions of Prince of Persia that I have played. Sure, it’s pull-out-your-hair-and-kick-a-hole-in-the-wall hard, but what version isn’t? Just like all the best Master System games this one never game out here. This is the Brazilian version if I am not mistaken.

Another deadly Master System game that we never got, Master of Darkness was Sega’s clone of Castlevania, although I like this game a little more than the original Castlevania, if only for the more manageable difficulty. The game looks great, sounds great and plays even better. This version is imported from the UK.

I picked this copy of Grandia for the PS1 a while back but never got around to showing it off. I actually got it in a huge lot I bought off of a local online classified add. If you divide out all of the stuff I got for the price I paid, I wound up getting this game for like $1. When I first got a PS1 for Christmas ages ago I went to my local video store (which was open at 11am X-Mas morning for some reason) and rented this game and Dragon Quest 7. Needless to say both games were critically late when I returned them. I really love Grandia but I never owned it for one reason or another… until a couple months ago. I really want to put aside some time and play through this beast again.

Lastly I have a couple of the old 7″ record packaging style computer games. These two are both for the Commodore 64 and what can I say? They are Arkanoid and Xevious… they are pretty rad- although i must admit that I bought them mostly for the big beautiful artwork, both outside and in.

Leave a Reply

