Finds! One Saturday in August

Here are some finds I picked up last week. I have a bunch more to post, but they will have to wait until next week because I am currently experiencing some computer related troubles. Boo.

On the plus side, I got two UNBELIEVABLE finds last Saturday, from the same secondhand shop no less.

First up in a Intec Gamecube LCD screen. I have always wanted one of these, and I was pretty shocked to find it in the display case of my local video game/movie centric secondhand store. It was in a glass display case beneath a pile of controllers. I nearly shit my pants when the clerk dug it out for me and I saw the price;

Seriously? These screens go to like $80 on Ebay, and in far worse shape than this!

Next up, in the display case right next to it was this:

An EFA Linker. This is a 256mb Game Boy Advance flash card… for only $5! These things still go for $130US brand new on most sites. It took FOREVER for me to find the proper drivers for this thing and I had to dig out my old Windows XP tower to install them.

My next step is too copy my patched Mother 3 ROM onto it and finally (re)play it the way it was meant to be experienced!

In the meantime there were a couple ROMs on it when I bought it, nothing that is overly interesting, though. The Mega Man was so/so from the 20 or so minutes of it I played.

From the same store I also picked up Mega Man Network transmission for next-to-nothing. I bought this game when it first came out (and have since traded it away). I remember really liking it, and I thought since i was getting a fancy new screen for my Gamecube I might as well grab this also.

I know updates have been sparse, but I have been busy spending time out-of-doors as much as possible before I am made a shut-in by the cruel, cruel winter months. Updates will be more frequent from now on, I promise!

4 thoughts on “Finds! One Saturday in August

  1. How many games can that GBA flash cart hold? Is that Gamecube LCD screen any good? I hear some not-so-good things about them.

  2. I am not sure about the number of GBA roms it will fit, as I haven’t really had a chance to play around with it yet, I am guessing not many, as it’s only 256mb. The Game Cube screen’s quality isn’t so hot, unfortunately. It’s a little blurry, and even after playing with he contrast it’s kind of hard to get the colors to look normal- but for $10 I am not complaining!

  3. […] GameCube LCD screen – This is one of those finds that popped up out of no where and is totally something I never thought that I would find in the wild. Back in August I was out with my brother killing time in the afternoon, when I found this amazing deal. I had wanted one of these things for ages, but there was no way I was going to drop $80 +shipping on one. The best part, other than getting a GameCube LCD screen, was the price. $10! […]

Leave a Reply

