Game Room Calamity!

I was jarred out of TV hypnosis last Friday night by the horrific clattering of ruckus from my game room. It was around 1 am on a Friday night, I was in the middle of some awesome movie cut badly for network TV.

After a moment of processing the situation I realized that something in my game room had given out. I found myself  repeating in my head (or maybe it was aloud, I was pretty tired) “Not the big shelf, not the big shelf, not the big shelf.”

The big shelf holds some of my most prized video games, such as (but not limited to) my CIB SNES games, including Earthbound, Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy 2 & 3, as well as my CIB Gameboy/GBC/GBA collection and all of my staggeringly expensive-to-replace PS1 RPGs. Needless to say, I was expecting the worst. I opened up the door and saw this:

My wall shelves (NOT the big shelf, thankfully) had fallen to the floor under the massive weight of the PC and Amiga games which they once supported.

Strewn about my game room’s floor were all of my beloved boxed computer games. Beneath a Steel Sky, Hero’s Quest, Syndicate, The Dagger of Amon Ra, The Secret of Monkey Island, all of them. Thankfully (and amazingly) nothing was damaged, including the boxes for my AV Famicom, Famicom Disk System, and Family Basic set.

It seems the drywall screws I used to secure the rails to my wall were no match for my heap-load of computer awesomeness. I have decided just to build a self supporting shelf that will sit on top of my desk so something like this never happens again.

4 thoughts on “Game Room Calamity!

  1. That totally sucks man! I’m glad none of your stuff got damaged. I don’t have half as many games as you do, and I would probably flip if something like this happened. But at least it wasn’t the big shelf.

  2. Man! that sucks. This happened to my dad once with his record collection and he ended up severly damaging some super rare Queen bootleg that was valued at like 300 dollars.

Leave a Reply

