Super Punch Out Homepage!

I just happen to stumble upon this fantastic little piece of internet history: the original homepage (remember when they were called a ‘homepage’?) for Super Punch Out. This is the Japanese site for the amazing Super Famicom title. Not a lot went into web pages back in those formative years, and this is no exception. A huge plus to finding this site is the totally badass animated GIF at the bottom of the page, which I have rescued and am now letting live here on VGAR for eternity. To the right of the GIF is the hyperlink menu that lets you go to 3 more pages of Super Punch Out awesomeness. Yeah, it’s a pretty teriible menu system, I know. Also, if you go to the very bottom of the page you can click on the arrow keys to scroll through other Super Famicom game pages such as Kirby’s Adventure 3, Donkey Kong Country 2 and 3, Super Mario RPG, SMW 2: Yoshi’s Island and more! Pretty rad!

Check out the site here!

Flipping through the pages, I also stumbled upon this bizarre graphic. I have no idea what it is for, but it seems to be a oddly represented Nintendo characters sitting around a TV playing Super Famicom. Why does Mario have a blond beard? What is going on?

2 thoughts on “Super Punch Out Homepage!

  1. Here is what their saying:
    Big beard guy: Even those the packaging gives you this kind of feeling (I guess he is meaning the cartoon) its real! (experience, stuff)
    Girl Beneath: I wonder if I can become a Bass Pro also…
    Green Shirted boy: Its more fun because we have a Satellaview right!?
    http://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satellaview
    (A satellite modem for the Super Famicom.)
    Squirrel: Get ride of your trash okay?
    Fisherman: I have had 30 years experience fishing and even I’m satisfied with this.
    Baby being held by fisherman: I haven’t ever fished before but this is interesting (fun)!
    Duck: Be careful with the birds in the water!

    I thought you might find my translation interesting.
    ………….you still haven’t put my blog on your page……….cries.

  2. shit dude, total oversight. I will fix that right now (even though I am crippled by being on my wife’s netbook. i know only photoshop!)

    thanks for thes translation, though! that almost makes it all the more confusing. on a side note i have been this close *pinches thumb and forefinger together* to buying a satellaview so many times just to add tomy import nintendo console collection…

Leave a Reply

