Recent Finds and Deadly ‘Gets’

I haven’t posted any finds or additions to my collection recently, as I have been preoccupied with the 12 Days of Famicom series I ran through-out the last month, but I have been adding to the collection at a steady rate. This will probably be the last pick-up post of the year, so let’s get rolling!

I have added a couple new games to my collection that are worth mentioning, so we’ll start there.

I managed to snag myself a copy of the Super Mario All Stars Limited Edition. These things are going for crazy money on Ebay, and word is that Nintendo is not reprinting the Limited Edition (finally a limited “limited edition”). I am going to probably keep mine sealed, as I own these games on the NES, SNES, and in my Super Famicom Box. Seriously, though? No Super Mario World? Really?

I also picked up a sealed copy of Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne. I have wanted this game for ages, and I am really excited to crack it open and play the shit out of it. I have a few in my backlog that I am reviewing for Game Sugar, but this is next after they are all done.

At the same time I picked up Nocturne, I also got my hands on a sealed copy of the Wild Arms 5 special edition set. I picked this and Nocturne both up from Replay Games, where I also have new copies of Digital Devil Saga 1 & 2 in my hold pile.

I got a double dose of Game boy Color radness from a local second hand shop. First off I snagged a complete and mint copy of Crystalis, which is an enhanced port of the classic NES action RPG. It’s in beautiful shape and it only cost me $4.95(!!!).

With Crystalis I also picked a complete and mint copy of the GBC port of Shadowgate. Say what you will, but I am huge fan of point and click adventure games and Shadowgate, while not the best, is certainly worth the $3.95 I paid for it.

Now this… this is an incredible find. I picked up a complete copy of the ultra-rare, unlicensed Genesis port of Double Dragon, again from Replay Games, and for a paltry $14.95. One of the greatest finds I have had in a very long, long time.

Straight from teh UK comes a copy of the original Sonic the Hedgehog for the Sega Master System. This, along with it Master System sequel, are incredible platformers in their own right. Certainly not comparable to the Genesis counterparts, but they do stand alone as classics that every Sonic fan, or even old school platforming fan, should experience.

I finally got a complete copy of Final Fantasy 3 for the Famicom. I have all three famicom carts loose, and I am slowly getting them all boxed and complete like. I found this at a price I could pass up. I recently made a list of all the CIB Final Fantasy games in existence (minus the Crystal Chronicles series, which I am not a fan of) and I am only missing 14 games! Soon… very soon.

Last, but certainly not least I got the daughter board for The Goonies for my Nintendo Vs. cabinet. This was one of the games that was highest on my list as far as wants for the system goes, and now I have it. It is really, really hard and addictive; the most most important parts of an arcade style game. Needless to say, it hasn’t left my red tent since the day I put it in.

Tune back in Friday for my Year in Review post. Until then…

One thought on “Recent Finds and Deadly ‘Gets’

Leave a Reply

