Deadly Computer Game Gets!

Like most awesome people, I love old computer games, especially Sierra adventure games. Even though I play all my old computer games not on floppies or diskettes but on Scumm VM and DOSBox, I still have an affinity for the old big box packages with the technical manuals and guides and code wheels and such. As luck would have it, I have been stumbling across lots of old computer games (is there any other kind worth playing?) in the wild recently, so I have collected my finds and gets here in this most excellent post. Enjoy.

This really cool copy of the classic thriller The 7th Guest is one I found for $4.99 at my neighborhood Salvation Army Thrift Store. In fact, it is the very same thrift store that I found my copy of Hero’s Quest a couple years back. What’s really neat about this copy of The 7th Guest is that is comes with a making-of video… on VHS! I supposed video codecs have come a long way…

I am not overly familiar with the Gabriel Knights games, other than part 3 was the last game made by the famed Sierra studio Yosemite. I have always wanted to get into them, so I am taking this find ($1.99 at a local thrift store) as an omen to grab the first two. I am pretty stoked. The artwork for this game looks really interesting and the accompanying material really sells the games as a macabre mystery adventure game.

I am a huge fan, however, of the first few Leisure Suit Larry games, with the peak (in my opinion) being Passionate Patti in Pursiut of Pulsating Pectorals (part 3). I found this at the same time I found the Gabriel Knight game, also for $1.99 so I couldn’t pass it up. I remember playing part 3 at my grandpa’s place when I was a kid. My cousins and I would spend ages guessing at the “adult only” questions that served as age verification at the start of the game. The more questions you gut right, the raunchier the content would be unlocked. Little did we know at the time it could all be skipped by pressing Ctrl-Alt-X. Stupid kids!

This is a game I actually got several months ago, and I have posted it as a find previously. But the game is so incredible that I had to include it again, if not to give it more exposure. I didn’t even know this game existed until literally 3 minutes before I bought it. I was frantically searching for bathroom reading material and grabbed a random Commodore 64 themed vintage computer mag of a pile in my game room. I was looking through it and came across a “first impressions” type of article about Neuromancer. The game is an old school adventure game (think early Sierra titles such as the first King’s Quest games) crammed onto two floppies. The game is actually on of the best adventure games I have played, and certainly one of the best all around C64 games there are. Add to that the fact that it is based on on of my all time favorite novels (Neuromancer by William Gibson, a cyberpunk masterpiece) and as soon as I flushed the toilet after reading the article I went straight to my computer and bought a copy on Ebay. It cost me around $65 all in, but I am happy to report it was MORE than worth it in the end.

This was another Commodore 64 game that I had never heard of until I actually saw a copy. I am a huge fan of the original Die Hard flick, and as such had to have this game. It is about 100 times better than the confusing (and needlessly difficult) Nintendo game based on the movie. This one thankfully abandons the top down view for more of a multi-plane side view, similar to a beat-em up. I currently have this on loan from Replay Games (a massive perk to working there a couple Saturdays a month), so I don’t technically own it yet, but I have no doubt in my mind that I will be purchasing it eventually.

Here is the true gem of the lot. I actually specifically bought this one on Ebay, as I want to get all the Quest for Games. The is part 2, the direct sequel to Hero’s Quest / Quest for Glory 1 (which I previously took an in-depth look at here). The game picks up immediately after the first game ends and carries much of the same game play perks and overall sense of humor and style as the original. It also uses the same graphics engine so the game looks nearly identical. The game came complete, with the floppies and diskettes as well as all the additional goodies.

Also included amongst the swag is a huge fold out map, which you find out pretty quickly after being set loose in the main city of Shapeir, is a form of copy protection as it is next to impossible to make you way around the city without this map. Aside from that, it’s a pretty cool bonus and a spectacular piece of artwork in itself.

2 thoughts on “Deadly Computer Game Gets!

  1. You know I found the same 7th Guest game sans the VHS tape a year back at a yard sale for a buck! As I don’t have an affinity for big box PC games I ended up selling it on Amazon, but it’s a great find for sure!

    The only PC game I currently have is the special edition Super Meat Boy just to support Team Meat.

Leave a Reply

