Famicom Time

I recently had some *gasp* free time, and I thought the best way to fill it would be to pull all my beloved Famicom games out and put in and play each and everyone, if only for a minute.

I sat down and played for a good solid three hours… something I haven’t done with a non-RPG in quite a while. Some games had me hooked a lot longer than others (Recca would not let me go!) and some stayed on screen for only fleeting seconds (most RPGs).

In this process I have narrowed down my five favorite Famicom games (that I own). In no particular order, they are

  • Summer Carnival ’92: Recca
  • Antarctic Adventure
  • Yume Penguin Monogatari
  • Splatterhouse Wanpaku Graffiti
  • Akumajō Special: Boku Dracula-kun (Kid Dracula)

Seriously, I spent over 30 minutes during this event/expereiment playing Antarctic Adventure. Sooooo addicting.

I think I am going to try to do this more often with my games. Next up, I think, will be my Master System collection, as it’s small enough to plough through pretty thoroughly in only a few hours.

A few other observations for you: Duck Tales is awesome in any language, the Advantage is best controller for both the NES and Famicom, my gold Punch Out Special cart is in the top 3 of my favorite gaming possessions, and Somari has probably my favorite title screen in all of 8-bit gaming.

Pictured: special feelings.

I will have more posts forth coming, now that my basement situation is under control.

2 thoughts on “Famicom Time

  1. You know, I haven’t played enough of Antarctic Adventure. I think I’ll have to rectify that soon, thanks in part to your post. (Sean over at famicomblog mentions it often, too.)

    Also, that gold Punch-Out!! cart is the definition of sexy. Really, someday I’m going to follow in your footsteps and acquire one, no matter the cost!

  2. Yes, Antarctic Adventure is one of the best out there! The music is probably my favorite of any Famicom game, and that simple gameplay – it is so addictive.

Leave a Reply

