DS Hoarding!

Recently, I have started to stockpile DS games, mostly RPGs, while it is still possible to find them at decent prices. With each passing month, even games for relatively recent systems such as the PS2 and Gamecube steadily climb in price as they begin to disappear from retail stores and GameStops alike. With each passing week collectors and players both seem to discover the awesomeness of the games of generations past, and rare and desirable games start becoming harder and harder to find easily and for a reasonable price.

I love me some video games, and I will buy any game I have my heart set on, regardless of the price, but that doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t rather get a game for $20 instead of $60. I am not crazy, nor am I made of money.

Below is a fistful of DS titles I have started to hoard over the past 3 months. Some are still sealed, yes… and some have since gone out of print (Infinite Space) and some have come back into to print (Radiant Historia), but they are all sure to become harder to find in the coming months and certainly by this time next year.

Sands of Destruction  – I am pretty excited to play this one. I know that it didn’t get the best reviews, but I also know that most Western reviewers automatically disregard anything resembling a classic JRPG. Considering the talent pool behind this game (Sands was written by Masato Kato, writer of Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy 7, Xenogears, and Chrono Cross, and the music was composed by Yasunori Mitsuda, who composed quite possibly the greatest video game score ever in Chrono Trigger) I think this may be a hidden gem waiting to be discovered by the right kind of audience.

Shin Megami Tensei: Strange Journey. I know, I know… I am late to the party on this one. In fact, I haven’t even picked up Devil Survivor, let alone played it. I have heard nothing but great things about his games, and I am already a devout follower of much of the SMT series, so there is no way this can miss for me. I am going to pick up my “Love is Over” Deluxe edition of Catherine from *shudder* EB Games after work today, so at least I am not completely in the Persona Team/SMT/Atlus dust, right?

The World Ends with You. Now this game I have played, and even beaten to completion. I tradd this away a few years ago and always regretted it. I happened to be in a mall and saw it at EB Games for $20 used, so i grabbed it for on a whim. I really want to get back into this game again, mainly because it exercises the some of the bestuse of the DS’ full functionality, up their with games like Elite Beat Agents and Okamiden.

Infinite Space – I have wanted this game ever since I read about it in a copy of Nintendo Power a few years back that proclaimed that summer to be The Summer of RPGs. I think i have every DS role playing  game in that issue, which make me very happy. I may keep this sealed and sell it off, as it has gone out of print since i picked it up and is hovering around the $50 to $80 mark for sealed copies on Ebay. What would I buy with my profits? Probably more awesome games.

9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors – I am not 100% sure, but this may already be out of print. I just got his in the mail yesterday, as none of the video games stores in my area even got a copy of this game, and I was sick of waiting for one to show up second hand. This is a brand new sealed copy, and of all the games I ahve hoarded for the DS that I haven’t played yet, this is the one I am the most excited to play. I heard literally nothing but glowing reviews and recommendations about this title, and I am already a huge fan of adventure games. I will settle into this game right after I finish Radiant Historia. Speaking of which…

Radiant Historia – What can I say about this game? I am a dozen hours in and I am absolutely flabbergasted by how excellent this game is, through and through. I originally pre-ordered this game, but at the time it was release my wife was 8 and 3/4 months pregnant and ready to pop any second and I never got around to going to pick this up. Silly me, because the pre-order edition of the game with the soundtrack goes for $60+ now, plus I am out my $5 dollar pre-order. The time travel mechanic, the white chronicle, doesn’t offer nearly as much freedom as I thought it would when I first heard about the games, but I can definitely justify a comparison to Chrono Trigger. The story is engaging and the characters are surprisingly 3 dimensional and fleshed out. I highly suggest you pick up the reprint of this game that is out now before it is out of print for good.

Contact – The ultimate definition of a quirky game. This copy is still sealed. I picked it up on Ebay a few years ago because I only owned it loose at the time. I ended up beating my loose copy and selling it to a friend and haven’t had the urge to replay it yet. The game has been called a quasi/spiritual sequel/ homage to the SNES classic Earthbound, and I can kind of see it… just don;t pick this up expecting the same type of experience as the Earthbound/Mother series provides. I guess it is as close as we will ever some to a Earthbound follow up…

Hotel Dusk: Room 215 – This is another game that I used to own, but sold for some reason. I got this mainly so I can play through it while I wait for my copy of the Europe/Japan exclusive sequel, The Last Window: The Secret of Cape West, to arrive in my mail box. If you have never played this, I highly recommend it. You can find it easily for less then $10. It’s an adventure/detective mystery game that is well worth it’s weight.

That about does it for now. Expect more posts this week, as I have tons of really awesome video games to show you and discuss.

3 thoughts on “DS Hoarding!

  1. Why do America get so many RPG’s than Euro? Myself and miss’s C have been collecting DS now for well over a couple fo years, but RPG’s are very few and far between over here, and we’re too anal to buy from the US (regions man!)

  2. the DS is region free. if you ever need someone on this side of the pond to track anything down and send it to you, let me know!

  3. Yea, I have a few NTSC DS games, but I think im being rather anal and prefer the Pal boxes =/

    That reminds me about persona PSP, expect an email soon mate.

Leave a Reply

