Recent Finds and Deadly Gets!

I have been hitting the local thrift stores quite a bit lately, which I tend to do more when the weather is more climate. We have had an amazingly warm and early spring for my neck of the woods, and I have been finding some pretty great stuff in the wild. See for yourself!

super mario bros. the movie the thermos

This first bit of radness I actually found in an antique store of all places. Floating in a sea of over priced toys form the 80’s and 90’s (none of them any good, trust me) was this Super Mario Bros.: The Movie thermos. Memorabilia for that turd is actually kind of uncommon, so I had to get this.  I only paid $8 for it, and I feel pretty good about adding this to the game room. I remember when I was a kid my dad actually took me to go see the Mario Bros. movie in the theatre. It is seriously the first time I can remember being disappointed when leaving a movie theatre. Compared to some of the other movies I had seen in the theaters up to that point (Back to the Future 2 + 3, Ghostbusters 2, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 1 + 2) I would say that the Super Mario movie was a pretty epic let down.

power blade (nes)

I have heard nothing but good things about Power Blade, but it was just one of those games I never played as a kid. I picked this copy up for $4 at a local junk store so I jumped at the opportunity. My only regret is waiting so long to play this game. I played it until I beat it, and then played it until I beat it on the harder setting. This game is fantastic, it has probably squeaked its way into my top 20 NES games, and that is a pretty robust list. Find this game and play it, trust me.

Monster in My Pocket is a NES game that I have always wanted to play, even all the way back to when the game was new. I finally saw it in the wild and paid a steep $15 for it (worth it in my books). To be completely honest, I was kind of disappointed. I thought that Rescue Rangers used the “small hero in a giant world” theme to much greater effect in that titles level design. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing bad about this game- all and all it is a really solid action platformer. That being said that game is a little bland and repetitive. Not helping things is a sporadic and over all uneven difficulty level, boring level backgrounds, and repetitive enemies. I could take it or leave it, but I am glad I finally have a copy.

jackal (nes)

I picked up this copy for Jackal for NES for a mere $3 at a local second-hand store, mainly because the car looked like complete and utter garbage; cover in writing, stickers, goo and dirt. However, 20 minutes with some goo-gone, rubbing alcohol, windex, some q-tips and a toothbrush and the cart looks brand new. Pound for pound, Jackal has to be among the greatest two-player experiences in 8-bit gaming. The single player is pretty rad also. Blowing shit up in a Jeep full of commandos never felt so amazing.

kirby's dream land (game boy)

I picked this minty fresh, CIB copy of Kirby’s Dream Land for the original Game Boy up at a local second hand store (same one as mention above) for $19.95. A pretty stellar price considering they go for at least twice that on Ebay… and this one is in REALLY good condition. My 4 year old daughter has actually sunk much more time into this one than me, although I did play the shit out of it at my cousin Neil’s house around the time it came out. I just wish that CIB Game Boy games weren’t so expensive and hard to come by, or I would have a lot more of them.

Jurassic Park (IBM PC)

This little gem I picked up at the Salvation Army thrift store for $0.99. I couldn’t pass this one up because I am such a huge fan of both the book and the movie. I haven’t had a chance to play this one yet, but it looks great with my gaggle of PC and Amiga big box games. I have this thing where I can’t pass up a big box PC game when I see one on the cheap, and I have gotten 95% of my PC big box collection from this one single Salvation Army thrift store.

Nintendo Game Strategies Vol. 1

Nintendo Game Strategies Vol. 3I actually picked both of these books (see inset) at a local used book store for $4 each. A little more than I would normally spend on something like this, but these old books are nearly impossible to find, even online, and I just happened to have a $10 bill in my pocket. All in all these books are kind of poorly written and woefully misinformed, but it is still pretty funny to look back on stuff like this. Now if I could only find a few of those Nintendo Tips and Tricks VHS tapes I used to rent when I was a kid…

I never pass up controllers or adaptors when I see them in the wild. I picked this bunch of stuff from another local junk store. They were $1.99 each. The PS1 controller above is in absolutely mint condition, and the SNES controllers needed quite a bit of cleaning, but ended up turning out to work perfectly. This is the second similar score I found at the same place in the past month.

Expect more posts very soon… I am actually waiting on a battery charger for the “G” battery that my Sony digital camera uses because my original one got lost somewhere. I had to order one off of Ebay because no stores in my area carried them, so I cannot take any pictures in the meantime. It should come via mail this coming week, though.

2 thoughts on “Recent Finds and Deadly Gets!

  1. What is your method for cleaning controllers? I’ve heard using rubbing alcohol on the conducting material inside the rubber domes and cleaning off the contacts can make older controllers more responsive, but I haven’t tried it yet.

  2. Have you tried MiMP with a second player? It really does improve the game experience. On top of that, it’s unlike a lot of simultaneous 2-player games on the NES in that having a second player who is of below-average skill isn’t much of a hinderence. Compare it in that sense to say, since it’s relevant here, Jackal. Definitely a recommended co-op experience to have sometime before you die.

Leave a Reply

