Recent Finds and Deadly Gets

I have had a pretty fruitful May and June (so far) so I have an awful lot of finds to share with you, beginning with today’s update. Rather then do it by system, I thought I would spread it out evenly and present then in no particular order. Starting with something completely awesome, of course;

GunNac (NES) – GunNac is a pretty interesting NES game, given the fact that it is exactly the type of game that usually didn’t make the transfer from NIntendo’s Japanese Famicom. GunNac could be put in the same phylum as other weirdo-Japanese 8-bit games such as Yume Penguin Monogatari and Paradius Da. Like Parodius, GunNac is a hyper-quirky shooter over the top to the max with Japanese insanity. This is a phenomenal NES game that should be in every collection.

Animal Crossing (GameCube) – This is a game that I actually had on launch day, and my girlfriend (now my wife) and I played the shit out of it. I eventually traded away my copy and always kind of regretted it. I now have it back in my collection should the sudden urge to rid my town of weeds arise.

Kirby’s Dream Land 2 (Game Boy) – I was never really into any of the Kirby games when they were new except for the first one for Game Boy and Kirby’s Adventure for NES. The main driving force behind picking this up was for my daughter, who is 4 years old and totally in love with Kirby. I have also been playing it off and on for a week or so, and it’s pretty fantastic. It’s interesting to see the primordial ooze from which the SNES classic Kirby’s Dream Land 3 was formed.

Skitchin’ (Genesis) – Oh, the 90’s… such an innocent time in the video game industry. The best game whose name is a portmanteau, Skitchin’ (that’s skating and hitching, as in onto to cars a’la Marty McFly) is pretty much Road Rash on roller blades. Which is pretty deadly.

Magic Sword (SNES) – An early SNES title, Magic Sword is a Capcom arcade port that remains pretty faithful to it’s coin-op forefather. You pick your class of hero and slog through dozens of floors picking up AI controlled partners and murdering ghouls and goblins along the way. Yes, it is as awesome as it sounds.

Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade (Commodore 64) – This is a cassette tape game I imported from the UK. Unfortunately my Commodore tape drive is on the fritz, but it was made my LucasArts in the late 80’s, so it can’t be all that bad… … probably.

2 thoughts on “Recent Finds and Deadly Gets

  1. Where did you find the Animnal Crossing? I also live in Regina and you have a knack for finding things that I’ve also been lookign for, darn you!

  2. I found it at Cashopolis for $9! The secret to finding things in the wild is to go often and early. I check my spots at least once every two days, sometimes everyday.

Leave a Reply

