Video Game Concourse X

Over the past 5 years, I have been holding retro video game parties that I have dubbed the “Video Game Concourse”. I only do it a couple times a year, mainly because it takes me about 6 hours to set up and another 8 hours to put my basement back together.

This past Saturday I had just such a video game party. It went pretty awesome. A dozen or so retro-video-game appreciating friends, some beers, and some CRT TVs made for a perfect night of video game radness.

I have talked about my video game parties and how to throw one here before, but basically I haul out my large stash of small thrift store TVs I keep stored deep in my laundry room and hook up every system that my circuit breakers will allow. This time I managed to get 10 TVs and consoles hooked up, so that is pretty impressive I suppose.

I have lost count of how many Video Game Concourses I have had, so I arbetrarily gave this iteration the numeral X for fun. I thought it had a nice ring to it.

Also of note, my friend Vince beat Super Ghouls ‘N Ghosts on the hardest difficulty without taking a hits on the final stage, I feat I could never hope to achieve. A pretty good showing for his first Video Game Concourse.

6 thoughts on “Video Game Concourse X

  1. Wish I could have made it! Next time I’ll be sure to be there :) Though I don’t think I could be Super Ghouls ‘N Ghosts like that lol

  2. Before it’s lost to history, I’d like to note that I was there seeing you barely making it through that R-Type section where you had to annihilate a wall. Was I the only one who saw this!?

  3. That looks like it was a lot of fun, very nice set up . If I ever get a place wtih a basement, and some local retro gaming friends, I am totally copying this!

  4. I host similar parties a few times a year, but I usually set up some kind of competition with various less known 8- and 16-bit games that I want people to try out ^_^ It’s always a bunch of fun! I keep collecting TV’s for this purpose only, it’s getting hard to store them all though! haha ^^

Leave a Reply

