Recent Finds and Deadly Gets

First things first, I have my very own zine coming out! It’s all about The Legend of Zelda series, specifically the older titles. Its called Second Quest and will be available as a free PDF download or you can help a brother out and buy a printed copy. The printed copies are $10.50 plus shipping and are full color! I just got a sample copy done up and it looks fantastic. It’s 28 pages and contains a bunch of new pieces I have written that are exclusive to the zine. You will be able to get it over at Hold Reset on December 21st, so I would be be stoked if you went over there then and downloaded it or bought a copy.

Now down to business  I have  been picking up video games here and there, and as of late I have not been focusing on any particular system. I have just been kind of jumping around and picking up some games that I have been putting off for reason or another. Without further ado…

image

I picked up this copy of the fantastic little adventure game The Adventures of Willy Beamish for the Sega CD. I got this off of Ebay for a super low BIN, and I was half expecting to not get it. Early Sega CD games were packaged in an over sized cardboard box, and subsequently not many of these boxes have survived, and even fewer in as good of condition as this copy. Its a pretty cool little game, and if you are in that small cross-section of fans where Sega CD fans and adventure fans meet I suggest you pick it up.

image

True, the version of The Adventures of Batman and Robin you REALLY want to get your hands on is the Super Nintendo version, but I got this for around $15 shipped, which is a pretty great price for this game. True to form of most licensed games from the late 80s and early 90s, the SNES and Sega CD versions are quite different from each other. Where as the SNES version is a tight little brawler, the Sega CD game is a run and gun style game. The game is as regarded for its excellent graphics as it is for its brutal difficulty. The choice of two player co-op softens the difficulty somewhat, but not nearly enough.

image

Yeah, I know. I can’t believe I didn’t own this either. I got this copy of Super Double Dragon about a month ago and played through it the next next day. All I can say is “meh”. I suppose I may have built it up a bit too much- the prospect of a 16-bit Double Dragon beat’em up, but its not just that. The game just feels kind of clumsy. Maybe another replay will change my mind.

image

I picked this copy of The Magical Quest Starring Mickey Mouse for like $8 shipped on Ebay, which is a hell of a good price. Its a great little platformer, as you would expect from Capcom, but even with this SNES release you can see some of the magic draining from the super high standards of Capcom’s 8-bit Disney output. Still… a great game.

image

Now this is one of the best games i have played in a while. Nosferatu is basically a modern day take on the story of Dracula that plays in the style of Prince of Persia. Brutally difficult but also vastly rewarding, Nosferatu is one of the best games for the Super Nintendo, and certainly doesn’t get near the credit or acclaim that it deserves.

image

Picked up these 2 floppys for King’s Quest II at a thrift store for $0.69. Awesome!

2 thoughts on “Recent Finds and Deadly Gets

  1. Is your Second Quest zine going to be available anywhere locally, like Replay Games or anything, or will I have to order a copy?

Leave a Reply

